You are here:  Our Waiting Adoptive Families > Meet Charles & Marie S.

Meet Charles & Marie S.

Adoptive family

Dear Birth Parents,

Thank you for taking the time to look at our profile. We are honored. We have been thinking about adoption for a couple of years and believe that open adoption is best for everyone involved, especially the child. It will be good to have a relationship with you, too!

We hope you find some reassurance in learning that we have a lot of experience with kids.  We know how to love a child, how to grow with a child, and how to always be on top of what they need.

Our Story

We found one another online, and when we first met in person a month later, everything just kind of clicked. Less than one year after that first date, Charles asked Marie to marry him.

Now married for over two years, we cherish our lives together. We are very family-oriented.  On the weekends, we are usually busy attending kids’ sporting events and family celebrations like birthdays and weddings, or we simply get together for dinner with family and friends.

loving family
Visiting a Christmas tree farm

We are crazy about Cedar Point. We live less than 30 minutes away, and have passes. During summer, we go and walk around often — at least once a week.

We take lots of weekend trips — to Gettysburg, PA (Charles is a Civil War history buff) and to the Smokey Mountains. We love traveling. Last year we visited Hawaii. We also go to Disney quite often.  (We know what kids like.)

Meet Marie I am college grad with a degree in psychology. I have now worked as a financial advisor for 17 years. I own my own practice, which gives me a lot of flexibility in what I do and when I do it.

Over the past 10 years, I have done mentoring for a version of Big Brothers/Big Sisters called “Reach Our Youth.” Charles joined me in this soon after we met, and together we now mentor three boys.  They are literally members of the family.  Between our two kids and the three boys we mentor, we always seem to have something going on. When I want to relax, I read and take walks.

Meet Charles I have been a factory worker my whole life, mostly at General Motors.  Today, however, I am a stay-at-home dad, and will continue to be one after the arrival of our new child.   I’m so looking forward to that.

I enjoy sports. I’m a lifelong OSU fan, and, because we live close to Cleveland, I have also followed the Browns, Indians, and Cavs for as long as I can remember. I love working as a mentor with Marie for “Reach Our Youth.” Mentoring these three boys is such an important part of my life. For relaxation, I definitely like TV, and I like amusement parks! Roller coasters are my all-time favorite.

About the Kids Kennadi is 16, very outgoing, and always busy doing something, whether it’s friends, school, volleyball, or her part-time job. Kaleb is15 and prefers to do artsy things. He is a member of the choir, the band, and the drama club.  He works on the yearbook, and he’s quite into video games. Both kids are super smart and participate in College Credit Plus, a program that allows them to take college courses while they are still in high school. We are very proud of them.

family for your child
All of us at an Indians’ game

Life at Home

We love our neighborhood. It’s the kind of place where people watch out for each other. Our home is a great place to raise children. We have a large yard for play, and there are lots of parks in the area, too.

We live in the same neighborhood where Marie grew up, right next door to her parents, with whom we are very close. We’re also close to Marie’s sister and brother. We see them frequently, and we are active in the lives of each other’s kids.

Everyone in our extended families is very supportive of the adoption. Your child will be welcomed by a large family with lots of nieces and nephews — 10 of them!

Again, please know how much we appreciate you. We will be so very happy if you choose us to raise your child.

With love,
Charles and Marie

For more information about our family, please contact Adoption Link at 1-800-643-3356.